

## Minutes of the second Annual General Meeting of the Chipstead Players Charitable Incorporated Organisation, held on 22<sup>nd</sup> June 2023 at The Courtyard Theatre

## Anne Thorn, Chair, opened the meeting at 8.09pm. 55 members were present in the room.

1	<b>Apologies for Absence</b> were received from Lorraine Bygraves, Rosie Bottomley, Kathy Allen, Trish Workman, David Workman, Bridget Band, Jan Robinson, Anne Gregory, Russell Gregory, Jane Foster, Andy Pitman, David Perry, Susie Timms, Chester Stern, Susan Marinakis, Mel Morgan, Mary Morgan, Jonathan Laverock, Sue Wheeler, Pauline Beckley, Jane Bunner, Graham House, Ida West, Suzi Whittle, Debra Elsdon, Eve Manghani, Laura Drane, Audrey Simpson, Leslie Simpson, Charlie Crowther-Smith, Lesley Crowther-Smith, Sue Millman, Chester Stern, Katerina Russell and Ian Grayson.
2	<b>Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting –</b> September 22 <sup>nd</sup> 2022 Copies were displayed on the notice boards after the meeting and the Minutes have been approved by the Executive Board. Agreement was asked for and given by the members present at the meeting.
3	Chairman's Report As attached, this was read out by Anne Thorn, Chair. The report was proposed by Kate Perry and seconded by Geoff Thorn. Agreement was asked for and given by the members present at the meeting.
4	<b>Finance Director's Report</b> Copies of the accounts for the period March 2021 to 31 August 2022 were displayed on the notice boards and the website for 14 days prior to the meeting. Phil Wright presented the accounts to the meeting. His report is <b>attached</b> . The report was proposed by David Franks and seconded by John Fitzwater. Agreement was asked for and given by the members present at the meeting.
5	<b>Election of President</b> For the post of President, there was one nominee – Kate Perry – She was proposed by Phil Wright and seconded by Julie Cumbo. Chair announced that Kate Perry was duly elected.
6	<b>Election of Executive Board members</b> The term of Office of Anne Thorn, Chairman, expires on 31 <sup>st</sup> August 202. Anne Thorn offers herself for re-election at this meeting, for a further period of 3 years from that date. There is only one nominee and Anne Thorn was proposed by Phil Wright and seconded by Julie Cumbo and was therefore duly elected.
	Lorraine Bygraves and Rosie Bottomley stand down from the Executive Board with effect from 31 <sup>st</sup> August 2023.
	The term of Office of Anne Franks, Theatre Director, expires on 31 <sup>st</sup> August 2023. Anne Franks offers herself for re-election at this meeting, for a period of 3 years from that date. Anne Franks has been duly proposed and seconded. In the absence of any other nominees the Chairman declared her duly elected.
7	<b>Resolution of the Meeting</b> The Chairman put forward a Resolution to reduce the minimum number of Trustees to 7, because at present we are finding it difficult to recruit replacements for those Trustees wishing to retire.

	<b>To Be Resolved:</b> That clause 12(4)(a) of the Constitution be amended by reducing the minimum number of charity trustees from nine to seven.
	Agreement was sought from the meeting and given by a show of hands. Kate Perry (President) pointed out to the meeting that she hoped that this would not be a permanent state of affairs and that we would add to the number again in due course.
8	<b>Election of the Bar Committee</b> Rick Thompsett retires from the Bar Committee. John Smith remains a member of the Bar Committee in his capacity as Designated Premises Supervisor.
	Nick Gane, David Franks and Jane Foster all offer themselves for re-election. All had been proposed and seconded and in the absence of any other nominees were pronounced duly elected.
9	Appointment of Auditor Nichols & Co. carried out an Independent Examination of the account for 2021-2022 in accordance with the Charity Commission rules, and we propose that they should be responsible for future audits. The proposer was Lorraine Fitzwater, seconded by Ian Brown. Agreement was asked for and given by the members present at the meeting.
10	Artistic Director's Report Julie Cumbo presented the plays selected for next season (details attached) and each one was presented either by a member of the Artistic Panel or by the Director of the play they will be directing.
11	<b>Presentation of the Keeley Plate</b> Edwina Marrow, Chairman of the Keeley Plate Committee, presented her report ( <b>attached</b> ). The award for the season 2022-2023 is given to Tash Chant.
12	<ul><li>Any Other Business</li><li>1. Kate Perry reported an outline of the plans for the Centenary celebrations in 2024.</li></ul>
	2. David Franks asked if the date of the AGM could be moved to after the last show of the season in July. This can have implications for the timing of the Chairman's Report and Accounts which have to be submitted to the Charity Commission by a certain date. The Chairman agreed to refer it to the Executive Committee for a final response.
	3. Paul Falconer asked if shows could begin at 7.30pm, as many other groups do, rather than 8pm. The Chairman explained that this had been a subject for debate by the Executive Committee in recent months and FOH and bar staff had been consulted. The bar staff in particular said they would find it hard to attend early enough to prepare for the bar opening. Edwina Marrow said that the majority of FOH staff were in favour of 7.30pm. Kate Perry emphasised that this subject had been discussed at great length but will be raised again at the Executive Committee meeting.
	4. Paul Falconer wondered if some FOH staff could just do a duty before a show then watch it. Edwina Marrow (backed by Warwick Beazley a former FOH Co-ordinator) said that because there were specific responsibilities allocated to enable management of the audience in the event of an emergency that four people was the minimum number needed. If any of those people were in the audience they would not be able to deal effectively with any problems that arose.

The Chairman announced the meeting duly closed at 10pm.

Attachments: Chair's Report Finance Director's Report List of plays for 2023-24 Season Keeley Plate Report